Prominent Personalities in Territorial Army: Know Here

Prominent Personalities in Territorial Army: Know Here


Prominent Personalities in Territorial Army: Territorial Army also sometimes known as Citizen's Army or Terries has set a very high benchmark of professionalism and operational excellence. Territorial Army is part of Indian Army and is manned by officers and men who are embodied for training for two months in a year. Their actual role is during national emergencies, war and in support of Army when they relieve Regular Army for operations. The Territorial Army also guards vital installations like Headquarters, Ammunitions Dumps, Airports etc as also vital lines of communications.

In this article, we will give you an insight into some of the Prominent personalities inducted in the Territorial Army.

Lt. Col (Hony) Kapil Dev

Granted Honorary Rank of Lieutenant Colonel in TA on 24 September 2008 in infantry battalions  (TA) PUNJAB. The Indian Cricket team under his able Captaincy lifted the Coveted Prudential One Day International World Cup in 1983. On  23rd July 2002, he was awarded “ Wisden Indian  Cricketer of the Century”. 

Lt. Col (Hony) MS Dhoni

Granted the Honorary Rank of Lieutenant Colonel in TA on 02 September 2011 in Infantry Battalion (TA) PARA. An international figure representing India for over 10 years in Cricket. Shri MS Dhoni led the Indian Cricket Team to maiden T-20 World Cup in 2007 and in ODI World Cup in 2011.

Lt. Col (Hony) Abhinav Bindra

Granted Honorary Rank of Lieutenant Colonel in TA on 02 September 2011 in 124 Infantry Battalion (TA) SIKH. Shri Abhinav Bindra, the brightest star among a new breed of talented Indian Shooters, won the first individual Gold Medal at the Olympics in 2010 and also won Gold Medal in Men's 10 meter Air Rifle event at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland.

Lt. Sachin Pilot

Congress leader Sachin Pilot, who was also appointed as deputy chief minister of Rajasthan is the first Union Minister commissioned as a regular officer in the Territorial Army.

In 2015, Sachin Pilot cleared the written exam conducted by TA and the Service Selection Board (SSB) interview at Allahabad, following which he joined the force as a Lieutenant before proceeding for the training at the Indian Military Academy (IMA) in Dehradun. 

Lt. Anurag Singh Thakur

Anurag Singh Thakur, MP and President BCCI was commissioned to the Territorial Army (TA) in the rank of Lieutenant and was conferred the ranks by General Dalbir Singh, the Chief of The Army Staff, in a solemn 'Commissioning' ceremony held at Integrated Headquarters of Ministry of Defence at South Block in the presence of military dignitaries and his family members today. Lieutenant Anurag Singh Thakur was welcomed to the folds of Territorial Army by Maj Gen Surinder Singh, ADG TA. 

Lieutenant Anurag Singh Thakur cleared Services Selection Board (SSB) and was found fit for joining the Territorial Army. The officer has been commissioned in 124 Inf Bn (TA) SIKH

Jai Hind

No comments