Indian Army Ranks: Get Details Here

Indian Army Ranks: Get Details Here

Indian Army Ranks: Ranks in Indian Army provide a system of leadership that indicates a Soldier's level of expertise, responsibility and authority. As they say in Indian armed forces " You wear your heart on your sleeve and your resume on your uniform". Rank defines a soldier while Insignia is a distinguishing mark and a badge of authority or honor. 

Insignia- National emblem over a crossed baton and saber in a lotus blossom wreath

The Field Marshal rank is the highest rank in the Indian Army. It is a ceremonial or wartime rank and Field Marshal Sam Manekshaw and Field Marshal KM Cariappa were the only two officers to be elevated to the rank of Field Marshal.
Retirement- There is no retirement age for this rank. It is awarded lifelong.

Insignia-  National emblem over a five-pointed star, both over a crossed baton and saber

This is the highest rank held by an Army officer, apart from the honorary rank of Field Marshal, It is held only by the Chief of Army Staff of the Indian Army and the rank is equivalent to Cabinet Secretary of India.

Retirement- 3 years as COAS or at the age of 62, whichever is earlier.

Current GeneralGeneral Mukund Narvane,  is the current COAS.

Insignia- National emblem over crossed baton and saber.

Lieutenant generals are appointed only by selection (after 36 years of commissioned service) and may hold the position of a Vice Chief of Army Staff or Army Commanders.

Insignia- Five-pointed star over crossed baton and saber.

Major generals are appointed by selection after 32 years of commissioned service.

Insignia- National emblem over three five-pointed stars in a triangular formation.

Insignia- National emblem over two five-pointed stars

Colonel and above ranks are Selection grade ranks. 15 years of commissioned service is required for selection. Duration of Time Scale promotion to Colonel is 26 years of commissioned service.

Insignia- National emblem over five-pointed star

This rank is earned on completion of 13 years reckonable commissioned service subject to clearance of Part D exam.

Insignia- National emblem

This rank is earned on completion of 6 years reckonable commissioned service subject to clearance of Part B exam.

Insignia- Three five-pointed stars

This rank is earned on completion of 2 years reckonable commissioned service. In some entries i.e. UES , the rank is awarded after successful completion of 1 year.

Insignia- Two five-pointed stars.

It is rank achieved after getting commissioned into the force from the academy. E
Retirement- NA


Insignia – Gold national emblem with stripe

The promotion is based on selection. Although commissioned, they would be considered as senior enlisted personnel and fulfil a role similar to that of the most senior non-commissioned officers in other armies. A battalion's single subedar-major assists the commander in much the same way as a regimental sergeant major would..

Insignia- Two gold stars with stripe

The selection is based on promotion. The rank was introduced in the East India Company's presidency armies (the Bengal Army, the Madras Army and the Bombay Army) to make it easier for British officers to communicate with native troops.

Insignia- One gold star with stripe

The selection is based on the promotion. The soldiers holding JCO rank receive a commission from the President of India.


Insignia- Three rank chevrons

Historically, a havildar was a senior commander, being in charge of a fort during the times of the Mughal Empire and later Maratha Empire. It was used as the equivalent of a sergeant in the British Raj, which has led to its current usage.r

Insignia- Two rank chevrons

The rank was previously used in the British Indian Army and the Camel Corps, ranking between lance naik and havildar. In cavalry units the equivalent is lance daffadar. There is also a rank lance naik below naik, but it is on the verge of being obsolete.

Insignia – Plain shoulder badge

No comments