General Knowledge Quiz (Previous Years) for NDA & CDS :4th September

General Knowledge Quiz (Previous Years) for NDA & CDS :4th September

Dear Students, Defence Adda is providing you all with this quiz on General Knowledge questions for NDA ,CDS, AFCAT, INET & Other Defence Exams.

Q1. In which one of the following places is the headquarters of North-Eastern Railway located?  
(a) Guwahati 
(b) Gorakhpur 
(c) Kolkata 
(d) Bhuneshwar 

Q2. The boundary between North Korea and South Korea is marked by which one of the following?  
(a) 16 Parallel 
(b) 29 Parallel
(c) 38 Parallel 
(d) 49 Parallel 

Q3. Match the following  
List I                List II
(Place)                 (Industry)
A. Muzaffarnagar 1. Cotton textiles 
B. Adoni                 2. Sugar
C. Ranchi                3. Sports goods 
D. Jalandhar         4. Engineering goods 

       A B   C D
(a)  2 1 4
(b)  1   3 4 2
(c)  2 3 4 1
(d)  1 4 3 2

Q4. Which of the following tributaries of the Ganga System flows Northwards?  
(a) Kosi 
(b) Ghaghara 
(c) Gandak 
(d) Sone 

Q5. For which one of the following is planimeter used?  
(a) To know the surface area on a map 
(b) To know the distance on a map 
(c) To know the direction on a map 
(d) To know the height of places on a map 

Q6. The city of Nasik is situated on the bank of which one of the following rivers?  
(a) Krishna 
(b) Mandovi 
(c) Godavari 
(d) Tapti 

Q7. Which of the following statements about Annie Besant are correct?  
1. She founded the Central Hindu College at Benaras. 
2. She organized the Home Rule League. 
3. She introduced the Theosophical Movement in India. 
Select the correct answer using the codes given below  
(a) 1, 2 and 3 
(b) 1 and 2 
(c) 2 and 3 
(d) 1 and 3 

Q8. Which one of the following inscriptions mentions Pulakesin II’s military success against Harshavardhana?  
(a) Allahabad Pillar inscription 
(b) Aihole inscription 
(c) Damodarpur Copperplate inscription 
(d) Bilsad inscription 

Q9. Which one of the following statements regarding Harappan civilization is correct?  
(a) The standard Harappa seals were made of clay 
(b) The inhabitants of Harappa had neither knowledge of copper nor bronze 
(c) The Harrapan civilization was rural based 
(d) The inhabitants of Harappan grew and used cotton 

Q10. After the death of Raja Rammohan Roy, the Brahmo Samaj split into two sections; the Brahmo Samaj of India and the Adi Brahmo Samaj. Who were the leaders of the two sections, respectively?  
(a) Keshab Chandra Sen and Debendranath Tagore 
(b) Radhakanta Deb and Debendranath Tagore 
(c) Keshab Chandra Sen and Radhakanta Deb 
(d) Debendranath Tagore and Radhakanta Deb 


S1. Ans.(b)
Sol. Gorakhpur (Uttar Pradesh) is the headquarters of North-Eastern Railway. 

S2. Ans.(c)
Sol. ’38 parallel’ separates North korea and South korea. 

S3. Ans.(a)
Sol. 1. Muzaffarnagar-Sugar
2. Adoni-Cotton textile 
3. Ranchi-Engineering goods 
4. Jalandhar-Sports goods 

S4. Ans.(d)
Sol. The Son flows north-northwest through Madhya Pradesh. 

S5. Ans.(a)
Sol. Planimeters are used to measure areas on maps of any kind. They are often used by surveyors, foresters, geologists, geographers’ engineers and architects. 

S6. Ans.(c)
Sol. Nasik is located on the banks of the Godavari.

S7. Ans.(a)
Sol. Annie Besant (1847-1933) was the second President of The Theosophical Society from 1907 to 1933. She founded Central Hindu college at Banaras. Besant launched the All India Home Rule League along with Lokmanya tilak in 1916. 

S8. Ans.(b)
Sol. Pulakesin II (610-642 CE) is the most famous ruler of the Chalukya dynasty. The Aihole inscription describes how the mighty Harsha lost his harsha (joy) when he suffered the ignominy of defeat. Pulakesin entered into a treaty with Harsha, with the Narmada River designated as the border between the Chalukya Empire and that of Harshavardana. 

S9. Ans.(d)

S10. Ans.(a)
Sol. The conflict between Sen and Debendranath Tagore was broadened in 1865, when Tagore allowed the Brahmos conduction services to wear their sacred threads. Sen Objected this decision and withdrew from the Brahmo Samaj along with his followers. Keshab Chandra Sen and his disciples established the Brahmo Samaj of India on 11th November 1866 and Debendranath Tagore grouped themselves into the Adi(original) Brahmo Samaj. 


                                                    Aiming for Defence Recruitment 2019? 

No comments