General Knowledge Quiz (Previous Years) for NDA & CDS :27th September

General Knowledge Quiz (Previous Years) for NDA & CDS :27th September

Dear Students, Defence Adda is providing you all with this quiz on General Knowledge questions for NDA ,CDS, AFCAT, INET & Other Defence Exams.

Q1. Which one of the following was the original name of Tansen, the famous musician in the court of Akbar? 
(a) Mahananda Pande 
(b) Lal Kalwant 
(c) Baz Bahadur 
(d) Ramtanu Pande 

Q2. Who among the following has issued the coin rupee for the first time?  
(a) Muhammad bin Tughluq 
(b) Ala-ud-din Khilji 
(c) Sher Shah 
(d) Akbar 

Q3. In which of the following years was the All India Trade Union Congress formed in Bombay?  
(a) 1918  
(b) 1919
(c) 1920
(d) 1921

Q4. Which one of the following is the subject of the Narasimhan Committee Reports of years 1991 and 1998? 
(a) Administrative Reforms 
(b) Banking Reforms 
(c) Constitutional Reforms 
(d) Electoral Reforms 

Q5. Consider the following statements 
1. The Annual Appropriation Bill is passed by the Lok Sabha in the same manner as any other Bill. 
2. An amendment to the Constitution of India can be initiated by an introduction of  a Bill in either Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha. 
Which of the statements given above is/are correct? 
(a) Only 1 
(b) Only 2 
(c) Both 1 and 2 
(d) Neither 1 nor 2 

Q6. Who of the following constitutes a Finance Commission for a State in India? 
(a) The President of India 
(b) The Governor of the State 
(c) The Union Finance Minister 
(d) The Union Cabinet 
(e) Any sitting Judge of High Court or Supreme Court 

Q7. Which one of the following cities is located on the banks of the River St Lawrence?   
(a) Chicago 
(b) Detroit 
(c) Montreal 
(d) Vancouver

Q8. Match the following   
List I                                            List II
(Centre of Economic Activity) (Country) 
A. Edmonton                            1. Australia 
B. Kimberley                                  2. South Africa 
3. Cardiff                                        3. United Kingdom 
4. Cairns                                         4. Canada
       A B C D
(a) 1 2 3 4
(b) 4   3 2 1
(c) 1 3 2 4
(d) 4 2 3 1

Q9. Which of the following straits is not in Asia?   
(a) Malacca Strait 
(b) Bass Strait 
(c) Formosa Strait 
(d) None of these

Q10. What is the other name for the equatorial rain farests?   
(a) Lianos 
(b) Campos 
(c) Gran Chaco 
(d) Selvas 

S1. Ans.(d)
Sol. Tansen, who was one of the nine jewels or navaratnas in the court of Emperor Akbar, was born in a Hindu family at Behat near Gwalior in the Madhya Pradesh state. Father of Tansen was Makarand Pande, who named him Ramtanu Pandey. 

S2. Ans.(c) 
Sol. The first Rupee (Silver coin) was introduced by Sher Shah and was called “Rupia” which remained in use throughout the Mughal rule. 

S3. Ans.(c)
Sol. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC) was founded on 31 October 1920 with Lala Lajpat Rai as its first president. Upto 1945 Congressmen, Socialists, Communists worked in the AITUC which was the central trade union organization of workers of India. It is the oldest trade union federation in India. 

S4. Ans.(b)
Sol. Two expert committees were established under former RBI Governor M. Narasimhan in 1991 and 1998 to look into all aspects of the financial system in India. The report of this committee had comprehensive recommendations for financial sector reforms including the banking sector and capital markets. 

S5. Ans.(b)
Sol. The Appropriation Bill is intended to give authority to Government to incur expenditure from and out of the Consolidated Fund of India. The procedure for passing this Bill is the same as in the case of other money Bills. An amendment of the Constitution can be initiated only by the introduction of a Bill in either House of Parliament. The procedure of amendment in the constitution is laid down in Part XX (Article 368) of the Constitution of India. 

S6. Ans.(b)
Sol. According to Article 243 (I) the governor of the state shall set up the Finance Commission within the period of one year. State Finance Commissions receive grants from the finance Commission that is set by the central government. 

S7. Ans.(c)
Sol. Montreal is Situated on the bank of river st. lowrence. 

S8. Ans.(d)
Sol. 1. Edmanton-Canada 
2. Kimbertley-South Africa 
3. Cardiff-United Kingdom 
4. Cairns-Australia. 

S9. Ans.(b)
Sol. Bass Strait is a sea strait which separates Tasmania from the Australian mainland. 

S10. Ans.(d)
Sol. Selvas is a tropical rain forest found in the Amazon basin of South America. 


                                                    Aiming for Defence Recruitment 2019? 

No comments