Previous Year Questions General Awareness for NDA & Other Defence Exams: 25th February

Previous Year Questions General Awareness for NDA & Other Defence Exams: 25th February

Dear Students, Defence Adda is providing you all with this quiz on General Knowledge questions for NDA & Other Defence Exams.

Q1. Among the following who was the earliest visitor to India? 
(a) Alberuni 
(b) Fa-Hien 
(c) Hiuen-tsang
(d) Megasthanes 

Q2. Kalhana’s well-known work ‘Rajatarangini’ is an important source material for the study of which one of the following? 
(a) Ancient Kamarupa 
(b) Post-Mauryan Magadha 
(c) Medieval Rajasthan 
(d) Early medieval Kashmir 

Q3. Which one of the following political theories advocates the “Dictatorship of Proletariat”? 
(a) Democratic socialism 
(b) Fabian socialism 
(c) Liberalism 
(d) Marxism 

Q4. Who authored the Declaration of Independence? 
(a) George Washington 
(b) Benjamin Franklin 
(c) Thomas Jefferson 
(d) Calvin Coolidge 

Q5. Match List-I (Atomic Power Plant) with List-I (State) and select the correct answer using the codes given below the Lists: 
List-I List-II
(Atomic Power Plant) (State)
A. Kalpakkam 1. Karnataka 
B. Narora 2. Madhya Pradesh 
C. Rawatbhata 3. Maharashtra 
D. Tarapur 4. Rajasthan 
5. Tamil Nadu
6. Uttar Pradesh 
Codes :  
       A B C
(a) 1  6 4
(b) 1 4 6 2
(c) 5         6 4 3
(d) 5 4 6

Q6. In the map given below four thermal power plants are marked as 1, 2, 3 and 4, and their names are given in the list given here. Match them and select the correct answer using the codes given below the list :  
List : 
A. Balimela 
B. Koradi 
C. Ramagundam 
D. Talcher 

Codes : 
(a) 1  2 3
(b) 1 3 4
(c) 4         1 3
(d) 4 3 2

Q7. While Proclamation of Emergency is in operation, the term of the Lok Sabha can be extended for a period not exceeding?  
(a) Six weeks 
(b) Three months 
(c) Six months 
(d) One year 

Q8. What is the term of a Member of the Rajya Sabha?  
(a) Three years 
(b) Four years 
(c) Five years 
(d) Six years 

Q9. In which of the following years was the planning commission set up in India? 
(a) 1947 
(b) 1948 
(c) 1949 
(d) 1950 

Q10. Who is the ex-officio Chairman of the Planning Commission of India?  
(a) Vice-President of India 
(b) The Prime Minister of India 
(c) The Finance Minister of India 
(d) The Law Minister of India


S1. Ans.(d)
Sol. The chronological order of these visitor is as follows: 
Megasthanes (4th century BC); Fa-Hien (4th century AD); Huen-Tsang (7th century AD); Alberuni (12th century AD) 

S2. Ans.(d)
Sol. Kalhana, a Kashmiri, was the author of Rajatarangini, an account of the history of Kashmir. He wrote the work in Sanskrit between 1148 and 1149. All information regarding his life has to be deduced from his own writing, a major scholar of which is Mark Aurel Stein

S3. Ans.(d)
Sol. In Marxist sociopolitical thought, the dictatorship of the proletariat refers to a state in which the proletariat, or the working class, has control of political power. The term, coined by Joseph Weydemeyer, was adopted by the founders of Marxism, Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels, in the 19th century.

S4. Ans.(c)
Sol. Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence

S5. Ans.(c)
Sol. A. Kalpakkam Atomic Power Plant is situated in Tamil Nadu. 
B. Narora Atomic Power Plant is situated in Uttar Pradesh. 
C. Rawatbhata Atomic Power Plant is situated in Rajasthan. 
D. Tarapur Atomic Power Plant is situated in Maharashtra. 

S6. Ans.(a)

S7. Ans.(d)
Sol. While proclamation of Emergency is in operation be extended by parliament by law for a period not exceeding one year at a time and not extending in any case beyond a period of six months after the proclamation has ceased to operate [Article 83 (2)] 

S8. Ans.(d)
Sol. The Rajya Sabha is a permanent house, not subject to dissolution, one third of its members retiring after every two years. Thus, every member enjoys a 6-year tenure. 

S9. Ans.(d)
Sol. In March 1950, Government of India constituted a statutory body with the Prime Minister of India as its chairman called Planning Commission of India. 

S10. Ans.(b)
Sol. Prime Minister is the ex-officio chairperson of Planning Commission of India.


No comments