Commands Of Indian Armed Forces: Indian Army

The Indian Armed Forces consist of three professional uniformed services: Indian Army, Indian Navy and Indian Air Forces. Additionally, they are supported by Indian Coastguard and Paramilitary Organizations. The president of India is the supreme commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The Indian Armed Forces are under the management of the Ministry of Defence (MoD) of the Government of India. It is the world's 2nd largest military force, with the strength of over 1.4 million active personnel, and has the world's largest volunteer army. The Indian armed force is split into different groups based on their region of operation. We will discuss the commands of Indian Army in this article.

The Indian Armed Forces have set up numerous military academies across India for training personnel. Military schools, Sainik Schools, and the Rashtriya Indian Military College were founded to broaden the recruitment base of the Defence Forces.

The Indian Army has divided administratively into seven tactical commands, each under the control of different Lieutenant Generals.



Northern Command was originally formed as a formation of the British Indian Army in 1895, scrapped upon India's independence in 1947 and later reformed in 1972. With a motive to oversee operations in the northern borders with Pakistan and China. Lt Gen Premindra Singh Bhagat, VC was appointed as the first Army Commander in June 1972. Udhampur is the Headquarter of Northern Command. Lieutenant General Ranbir Singh AVSM, YSM, SM is the current General Officer Commander-in-Chief, Northern Command of the Indian Army. 

Eastern command is active since 1920. Initially, Lucknow was the Headquarters of Eastern Command. Kolkata is the current Headquarter of Eastern Command (since 1963). Lieutenant General Abhay Krishna, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, SM, VSM is the current General Officer Commander-in-Chief, Eastern Command of the Indian Army. 

This command initially named Delhi and East Punjab Command was raised in Delhi on 14 September 1947 with Lt Gen Sir Dudley Russell, KBE, CB, DSO, MC as the first commander. On 26 October 1947, following the accession of Jammu and Kashmir to India, Western Command was put in charge of all Indian Army operations to seize the area for India. Chandimandir is the current Headquarter of Western Command. Lieutenant General Surinder Singh, AVSM & Bar, VSM is the current General Officer Commander-in-Chief of Western Command.

Southern Command is active since 1908. It has seen action during the integration of several Princely States into modern India, during the 1961 Indian Annexation of Goa, and during the 1965 and 1971 Indo-Pakistani Wars. Pune is the current Headquarter of Southern Command. Lieutenant General Dewan Rabindranath Soni, PVSM, VSM is the current General Officer Commanding-in-Chief (GOC-in-C), Southern Command of the Indian Army. 

Central Command was first established in 1942 during World War II and then disbanded in 1946. It was re-established on 1 May 1963 due to Sino-Indian war of 1962. Lt Gen K Bahadur Singh was the first Army Commander of the new Central Command. Lucknow is the current Headquarter of Central Command. Lieutenant General Balwant Singh Negi, PVSM, UYSM, YSM, SM, VSM & Bar is the current General Officer Commander-in-Chief (GOC-in-C), Central Command of the Indian Army.

The South Western Command of the Indian Army was established on 15 April 2005 and became fully operational on 15 August 2005. Jaipur is the current Headquarter of South Western Command. Lieutenant General Cherish Mathson, PVSM, SM, VSM is the current General Officer Commander-in-Chief, South Western Command of the Indian Army.

The Army Training Command (ARTRAC) came into being on 01 October 1991, at Mhow in Madhya Pradesh. Later it was shifted to Shimla on 31 March 1993. Now, Shimla is the current Headquarter of Army Training Command. The main objective was the Formulation and dissemination of concepts and doctrines of warfare in the fields of strategy, operational art, tactics,  logistics, training and human resource development. Lieutenant General Manoj Mukund Naravane, AVSM, SM, VSM is the current General Officer Commander-in-Chief, Army Training Command of the Indian Army.

You may also like to read:-


No comments